This is What the Vast Majority of YouTubers Just Don’t Understand

YouTube won’t make you rich unless you ignore ad revenue

Zulie Rane
The Startup

--

Photo by Karolina Grabowska from Pexels

YouTubers aren’t realizing their full income potential. I’m considered a fairly decent success story on YouTube. I was monetized about a year after I started posting. I reached 10k followers a year after. I’m in the top 3.4% of YouTubers in terms of subs.

But that’s a tiny fraction of the potential available for ambitious YouTubers. I make $400 a month from YouTube. That will not make me wealthy.

If I keep growing at the rate I’m growing, the ad revenue will not get to $1,000 a month until December 2021, if I’m lucky. (And still, $12,000 a year is way below minimum wage.)

When I see YouTube advice, so much of it is geared to grow your views, your followers, and your ad revenue. Most conventional advice ignores the awkward truth: ad revenue will probably never make you rich.

There are two areas you should focus on instead that have real potential to increase your income.

1. Brand Sponsorships

I increased my earnings by 25% in one month with a single, simple step: I got #sponsored. A brand paid me a flat fee to record a quick ad to post at the start of my video.

--

--

Zulie Rane
The Startup

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.