Startcon Winner Community MVP 2017

Three Ways to Connect With and Engage Your Network

Holly Stephens
2 min readFeb 1, 2018

--

Recently, I was lucky enough to take away the Community MVP award on the last day at the Australasian Startup Awards. This sounds like a fantastic title and achievement, but I know the success of the Triangles Community has come from an incredibly supportive network, so I want to thank them, and offer some tips on how to build, connect with, and engage your network in a productive way.

Just as some background, I only moved to Australia from the UK 18 months ago, I left my corporate 9–5 career in December 2016 where I was managing Marketing for Google, Android Pay, and transitioned into running two of my own businesses within 9 months. I’m the Founder of Springstart Marketing and launched the network Triangles to help women test and launch a business idea, connect with other entrepreneurs, leaders, and individuals who can help build their startup.

I went from no network in Australia to best Community MVP in less than a year.

Here are some of the things I have learned through experience on how to engage your network:

1. Deliver Value.

Don’t just spam your network. Provide people with valuable content, such as key tips, with the end reader in mind. Think about what would benefit them.

2. Research the key business and business owners you want to connect with.

Articles, press, and publications. Once you know who you want to connect with and why, then reach out. Don’t just approach someone to pick their brain. Think about what value you can deliver to them and how you can create a win-win.

3. Make a good impression first meeting. Especially if it’s a cold introduction.

Don’t try to sell to someone when you connect with them or meet them. Think about long-term opportunities and synergies that come from a relationship. Listen and take on advice on their area of expertise.

I want to acknowledge the amazing female leaders and male champions that enable the Triangles community, and I hope these tips help you go from strength-to-strength in your journey as an entrepreneur, founder, freelancer or employee.

--

--

Holly Stephens

Female Founder | Women in Blockchain | Speaker & Host | Entrepreneur | Winner of Smart 30 under 30 & Community Startup.