Tips For Learning A New Programming Language

Pankaj Kumar
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 14, 2019

--

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I always wonder on what to advice when I see a question like should I learn ‘Python or R’ , ‘Java or Ruby’, , ‘Lisp or Prolog’, ‘Ada or COBOL’. (I never saw the last one actually). In my opinion the answer is always obvious. Both. Probably my approach to learn a new language is little different from others.

Learning any new thing requires, time , patience , practice and motivation. One of the reasons we are in a dilemma question like above is scarcity of few of these essential elements needed for learning and mostly it is time. We don’t have time.

If you are a beginner to programming itself, you probably need a different approach. My worst suggestion to anyone ever is to start with one of languages in alphabetical order. Still it works. Once you have learnt that rest of this article will apply to you. I know time is precious in your case as well but mostly you ll spend time learning things common to most programming languages.

Components of a Programming Language

I divide my learning experience of a modern high level programming language in learning 5 parts of that language

--

--

Pankaj Kumar
The Startup

MS Data Science SMU TX. Pursuing MSc Financial Engg. At WQU.Interest in Algos, Discovering Trends fm data. Methodical, conven/non-conven. Investigation of data.