To Be a Successful Content Creator, Focus on Your Audience. But Don’t Forget Yourself.

How I turned my dream business into a nightmare and then rescued it.

Alberto Cabas Vidani
The Startup

--

Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

Many content creators fail because they are too selfish. They prioritize their interests, prioritize profit, and rarely prioritize problem-solving. This is why everyone warns beginner creators to follow an audience-first approach: selfishness is the norm.

I am the opposite. For a while it was an advantage. But I brought it to the extreme. I focused so much on my audience that I forgot about my needs. I suffered and in the long term the business suffered, too.

As always, reality is complex. Rigid axioms aren’t enough to guide thoughtful decisions. We need nuance.

So, here’s how I learned to go beyond the “audience-first approach” to improve my business and my life.

Everything goes when things work

My first online business was a success from the beginning. I launched a photography blog in Italian, which soon grew to 300,000 pages per month, exclusively through SEO.

For a while, I thought I found the way. I prioritized my audience because I targeted the most searched keywords. But I was also talking about something I…

--

--

Alberto Cabas Vidani
The Startup

10+ years helping Italians build content businesses. Rebuilding from scratch in English. Become an unstoppable creator: https://link.albertocabasvidani.com/ucs