To Keep Your Readers Hooked, Pitch Them Their Own Identity

If you want to write persuasively, learn from Nike to master this step.

Buse Umur
The Startup

--

Nike’s Iconic Ad

How do you write sentences that will grab your readers by the neck?

How do you influence them, so they won’t want to get out of the hook?

We’re the most impatient species on earth and get bored of what we read in a few seconds.

But we also tend to get manipulated if there is a good story. We are born to narrate and listen to stories. So, what is the secret sauce to make your readers stay?

Pitch their identity to themselves in your story.

We’ve all heard about the “find your audience” speech. But how does defining an audience work?

It took me years to leave the seat of a writer and put myself in my reader’s shoes instead. I always wrote to give voice to my ideas. But things changed when I thought about those who wanted to hear me. Instead of pitching myself or my ideas, I focused on who my readers wanted to become.

Nike’s iconic Air Force III print advertisement is a great example of identity pitching. Let’s see steps to define your audience and tailor your articles to their identities, so you can hook your readers as Nike did.

--

--

Buse Umur
The Startup

all that jazz about marketing, branding, and copywriting