To the Real Hypochondriacs — You Are Not Alone

Naomi Eden
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJun 6, 2019

--

Photo by JC Gellidon on Unsplash

When writing about mental illness, I tend to forget about the many nuances there are when it comes to my brain chemistry. Having been diagnosed with a mix of things, sometimes one burden weighs more than the other. For the last few years, my Bipolar Disorder had taken control of my life with anxiety and OCD haunting me from the backburner. During the shitstorms, I never have time to remember the hypochondriac within me until something physical comes up and consumes my mind. Recently, even the slightest bump on my forehead sets me off like a firework into the sky.

I want to share my experiences with hypochondria because I’m currently having an internal panic attack and want to get it off my chest. At the same time, I want to reach other readers who feel misunderstood and know exactly what I’m talking about.

I’ve Always Been a Hypochondriac Since Childhood

It’s actually really funny because I never knew where my health anxiety came from until I read my childhood IQ assessment. At the bottom of the notes, I read that I was a sensitive kid constantly worrying about mine and my family’s health. Seeing that, I realized that not only am I a generous hypochondriac, but I’ve been one since Barney the Dinosaur was my hero. This has always been something in my hardwiring and realizing it now…

--

--

Naomi Eden
The Startup

In the middle of my 27th lap around the sun-fueled by music, art, & love; mostly comedy and writing out my feelings for the world to read ❤