Top 1% Mindset… Why I Created Devswall

My journey to make the tech community better & ofc. money 💰

Hashir Hassan
4 min readJun 1, 2024

A Little About Myself

Like many people, I changed paths during my career. I am a software engineer by “profession” but I see myself doing less and less coding in coming days especially since I plan on retiring early. I always wanted to do business — binge watching episodes of shark tank and going crazy on Mark Cuban stories. However, I am not a golden child and responsibilities hit my shoulders.

Fortunately, I found myself naturally talented in development so I started my career in freelancing (right after I quit my “5 months” office job). I had a huge success on UpWork and became Top Rated Plus freelancer in first year! I remember looking at my stats: 94 invites in 90 days which means I never had to apply anywhere, clients came sweeping in my DMs. I got so busy doing the development because my clients were doing great business and I was proud to be part of “big startups”.

My Upwork Profile showing Top Rated plus and 100% job success score
My Upwork Profile View

Self Realization

After COVID, the invites kept going down, UpWork changed its model and I could not keep up so the projects started to shrink gradually. I hit my restart button ⏻ started doing bidding on jobs; eventually got some good gigs. One day, the idea of doing actual business got stuck in my mind. What did I do? I stopped taking more projects and started doing research to pursue my dream. My primary goal? Build a business that provides actual value, money will follow.

Genesis Of Devswall

Since most of my network has developers, I am more aware of what’s happening on their side. People are frustrated that they are not getting the salary they deserve and freelancers are struggling to close clients day-by-day. Software services companies are spending more and more on business development with less and less ROI. Why? Employers, clients, and startups don’t care about resume anymore! They want see what you can do in blink of an eye.

Old method of scoring clients and getting the jobs don’t work anymore due to fierce market competition. I am not ruling out resumes but if you want to stand out among 100s of applicants then resume/cover letter won’t do it. You MUST build a Portfolio. You should be able to quickly make changes to your portfolio and test different versions, add new projects etc. I searched online tools to create portfolios like dribble but for developers I found nothing! Every company is focused on recruiters and giving them a tons of developers to choose from. That’s where the idea of Devswall came in.

Devswall is the world’s 1st platform dedicated to developers to build online portfolio

How Devswall Is Your Only Solution

Now that the problem was identified, I had to create a solution that provides actual value. I did some research and here are the main problems you could encounter if you decide to build your own portfolio from scratch or by using no-code platforms like WordPress, Wix:

  • Hosting: A good server will cost you money.bUt tHerE are fReE SeRveRs then use them and say goodbye to client conversion!
  • SEO: Even if you know how to do SEO (jsonld, sitemaps, kw ranking), it’s best for you to save time and apply on jobs insead. Let Devswall do the SEO for you!
  • Portfolio Editor: With devswall portfolio builder, you can update your portfolio with few clicks.

With only 2 steps, you can create portfolio in minutes. I could’ve introduced various design templates and configurations but I am more focused on what actually works like your handshake, portfolio navigation, and github integration!

Steps to Create Portfolio on Devswall

Who is Devswall for?

Consider it like behance for developers — not just coders but software engineers! Here is not-so-complete list of people who should join devswall:

  1. Freelancers!
  2. Programmers: Python, Javascript, Scraping Expert, Java Maestro etc
  3. Website Developers: Full Stack Developer, Backend Developer, Frontend Developer
  4. Mobile App Developers: Android/IOS developers i.e. ReactJs, Flutter, Swift, Kotlin etc
  5. Desktop App Developers: Electron, .Net, Cocoa, Xamarin
  6. Game Developers: Indie Developers, Unity, Unreal Engine etc.
  7. AI Engineers: (LLM) frameworks, vector databases, operational databases Expert
  8. Data Scientists: Numpy, Big Data, NLP Expert, Quantitative Analyst
  9. DevOps: AWS, Dgx, Docker, Kubernetes Expert
  10. Fresh Grads: CS graduates or people who just completed professional course and now on the lookout for opportunities.

Your portfolio is like handing your employer the keys to a sleek sports car — they’re not just looking at it; they’re taking it for a spin.

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to create portfolio in less than 5 minutes:

Right after it’s launch, Devswall received overwhelming response from developers and I am excited to serve the peak years of career to it. Don’t trust my word? Would 80+ testimonials convince you? Developers are already lovin’ it ❤️

Testimonials
Sneak Peek of Few Testimonials

Try devswall for free no strings attached and see the magic conversions you get!

Happy Hunting!

--

--