Top 3 Podcasts for Entrepreneur’s Ready to Take Their Startup to the Next Level

Insight and experience that will power you through the expected and unexpected ups and downs of startup life

Marguerite Faure
The Startup
6 min readJul 24, 2021

--

Photo by Juja Han on Unsplash

Working for yourself can be a dream come true, but there are days when you feel knee-deep in a nightmare. To maintain some sort of even-keel, I figured that I should incorporate a system to surround myself with those who have found themselves in a similar space to remind me that ups and downs are normal.

I’ve managed to incorporate the habit of consuming long-form content on a daily basis and listening in on others braving, or who have mastered the grit required to turn their business into a commercial success, has had an incredibly positive effect on my mental health.

Podcasts are the soundtrack to my startup and have become the company I never knew I needed to get me through or help me plan ahead, for the start-up hurdles that I need to clear.

I’ve consumed a variety of podcasts, ranging from the big names, Tim Ferris, Rich Roll, Marie Forleo, etc, to the “four-episoders”, but three podcast shows, in particular, have been the best in not only sharing practical insight but ultimately demystifying the road from startup to success. So, if you’re an entrepreneur wanting to tune into shows from people who have a track record, then I strongly suggest you give either of these three shows a listen.

#1 The Ground Up Show — Matt D’Avella

Matt is known for directing the Netflix hit show Minimalism. However, I stumbled across his podcast as a way to get more content from a guest of his that I admired.

Unlike most shows, the structure and concept of Matt’s podcast kept me wanting to listen to more episodes, not because of who was being interviewed but rather because of how I felt after listening to an episode.

The premise of the show is to interview guests and share their journies from how they started from scratch to where they are today. Now, whether he was interviewing a YouTuber, a winner of a reality TV show, a podcaster, James Clear, or even a music video director, it seemed like everyone had already made it to some level of success no matter how big or small it was.

Matt never comes across as a guru, he asks questions that I would ask if I was a few steps further in my business. He also dives into the road that his guest traveled when starting from zero in their particular field.

Personally, I recommend this podcast if you’re serious about making your startup work. For me, that includes being open to discussing the uncomfortable harsh truths like when you mess up, planning for growth, and setting the right kinds of goals.

The guests feel like friends just a few strides ahead of you and not only do you feel inspired to keep going, but you may leave feeling as if someone handed you a refreshment that gives you what you never knew you needed to catch up to those ahead of you.

Also, with Matt sharing when he was sued for $7million, to when he forgot to press record on the camera during his first big gig, and not having reached his goal of interviewing The Rock, you route for the guy, and even though you’re not all on the same journey, it’s definitely a ride you want to listen in on.

#2 That Will Never Work- Marc Randolph

Whether friends, acquaintances, loved ones, or even critiques on the internet have spoken these words over your business, it’s nice to know that even Marc Randolph has not only heard, “That will never work,” 1000 times, but also proved the naysayers wrong.

The reality that I get to spend time with one of the founders of Netflix provides me with a large dosage of gratitude. Not only do I get to listen in on Marc sharing his personal wins and failures, but this podcast is where mark speaks to entrepreneurs trying to break through the noise.

Where many podcasts have a conversational structure, this podcast feels more like you are a fly on the wall listening in on a pricy business consultation. Marc shares a lot of tough love in this podcast and you find yourself sighing with relief that you are able to learn from the mistakes of others as opposed to learning lessons the hard way.

If you enjoy shows like Dragons’ Den or Shark Tank, then this has the same feel of expert meets amateur. And, with a plot twist, you leave feeling like a winner by having gained practical insight into how you should be approaching your business.

No matter the industry or the personality of the entrepreneur on the show, Marc demystifies business in a way that helps you prepare for growth as opposed to drowning in the rat race.

#3 Revisionist History — Malcolm Gladwell

You’re probably familiar with Malcolm's thought-provoking work through reading books like Outliers, Tipping Point, Blink… The list goes on. The books often introduce economic concepts that provide perspective on why people act the way that they do, or why the world works the way it works.

Malcolm has a way of telling a story that not only educates you but often changes your heart on topics you never knew you cared about.

This is my favorite podcast of all time.

I’m trying not to fan out here, but Malcolm has a no B.S approach to life which is helpful to anyone trying to navigate through the world- especially entrepreneurs.

In a past article, I explained why we should take breaks from our start-ups, and how confirmation bias could be challenged when surrounding ourselves with people outside of our working life. Listening to this podcast is a holiday in itself. Malcolm transports you to different points in history that provide insight into topics that most of us could avoid looking into purely because it’s uncomfortable, or because we just never knew about certain events.

However, I feel this podcast is required listening because you may get stuck in a rut, making average decisions, after average decisions only because you do not know better. This podcast provides perspective on what is really important in life as opposed to what seems urgent in the day-to-day activities we can so easily get lost in.

I have learned more from this podcast, and Malcolm’s books, than I learned in my entire university education and that could still even be an understatement. It has shaped so much of who I am and how I hope to impact those around me both personally and professionally.

Final Thoughts

I’m very much a work-in-progress and I often find myself riding the highs and lows of entrepreneurship, however, these podcasts have been the friends I never knew I needed on my journey.

I’ve listened to almost every episode on each of the three podcasts that I have recommended today, and I’m so excited for you to hear them out, that is, if you haven’t enjoyed them already.

If you’re in the mood for a think tank, a good time, and some laughs at how to navigate the ups and downs of a startup, go for the Ground Up Show. When you’re in the mood for some tough love, and expert advice, hang out with Marc. Finally, when you’re feeling brave, curious, and ready for a healthy dosage of perspective, invite Malcolm's voice into your ears.

I doubt you would go wrong with whichever of these you decide to start with and I hope they will be as rich and rewarding to you as they have been for me.

--

--