The 4 Top Concerns About Getting Into Product Management and Why They Don’t Matter

Ben Staples
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJun 1, 2020

--

So you’ve decided to become a Product Manager but have some concerns. Well my smart friend, you are not alone. Look on any Quora or Reddit community and you’ll find similar questions.

Want to hear about why I decided to make the switch from Product Marketing to Product Management? Check out the article I wrote about it here

Here are some of the top concerns people have come to me with and why you shouldn’t worry about them:

Concern #1: I am not technical enough

One of my biggest concerns was, how do I make the switch from the marketing to the technical side of the organization when I don’t have any technology experience.

There are a few key points to remember here:

A. Not all PM roles are technical or need to be.

In the article I wrote about how to gain more confidence as a Product Manager, Gayle Laakmann McDowell of Cracking the PM Interview details what product is like at some of the larger tech organizations.

Yes, many tech organizations will only hire product managers that are former engineers who are sometimes even relied on to code. Other companies split Product…

--

--

Ben Staples
The Startup

Ben Staples has over 7 years of product management and PMM eCommerce experience from at Nordstrom, Trunk Club, and Vistaprint . Currently based in Chicago IL