Track Your Weight With Python

You cannot improve what you cannot measure.

Ruslan Brilenkov
The Startup

--

An open laptop with some programming code.
Photo by AltumCode on Unsplash

Some people want to gain weight while others want to lose it. I have been in the former group for as long as I can remember myself. Even after learning martial arts for about 10 years, my weight did not increase drastically. It made my body fitter and my mind stronger. But still, it was not enough to increase my Body Mass Index. I have always been in the lower limit of the “healthy” BMI range.

There might be many reasons for that. Maybe, my love for sweets and snacks (fast energy). Perhaps, my high metabolic rate. Maybe, something else. Or, most probably, everything altogether. Who knows but the fact is the fact.

Looking years back, the only thing left is my memory that I have been somewhat underweight and no data to support or track down the weight changes over the years.

I often say that when you can measure what you are speaking about, and express it in numbers, you know something about it; but when you cannot measure it, when you cannot express it in numbers, your knowledge is of a meager and unsatisfactory kind.
- Lord Kelvin, 3 May 1883

--

--