Treat Freelance Writing as a Business

6 Lessons Writers Can Learn from Shark Tank

Lindsay Hamilton, MFA
The Startup

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

My husband and I have become ABC’s Shark Tank aficionados during our two years of marriage. We watch it almost every night while we’re eating dinner. It’s fun because the pitches are entertaining and inviting. When watching Shark Tank, my husband and I can’t help but share our opinions about the products and the viability of the businesses. We make guesses about who will want to invest and look up which companies are still around years later.

As a freelance writer with a small business, I sometimes thought about what I’d say if I was on the show pitching the sharks.

Time and time again, I’d stop myself from going down that rabbit hole because I don’t sell a product. My sales aren’t big enough for an investment. I’m only a one-person company.

But then I began to think, just because I’m not in a position to ask for (or even really need) an investment, doesn’t mean I can’t learn how to run my small business through lessons taught on the show.

That’s when I decided to write down a list of all the lessons I’ve learned about my writing business by watching Shark Tank. I may not sell a product, but I do provide a service. And service providers can learn a lot from the sharks. They keep their eyes on the prize…

--

--

Lindsay Hamilton, MFA
The Startup

I write about motherhood, marriage, and other things that I love.