Two Writing Styles That Every Business Author Should Know

Gary A. DePaul, PhD (he/him/his)
The Startup
Published in
5 min readAug 6, 2020

--

“Whatever you do, think big!” Those were the words that Jim Hill used to influence me to write my first leadership book. Although I don’t think that’s what he had in mind.

While I’ve written blogs, presented at conferences, and even wrote a dissertation, I’ve never written a book — much less a business book.

Before getting started, I talked to several people to discover what they want from a leadership book. Mostly, they want a lot of structure without dense paragraphs. If I could break a paragraph into a bulleted list, then great! If I could summarize three pages in a table, then that’s even better. Oh, and they want lots of examples to explain how to apply the concepts. Readers like real stories.

I applied these ideas but used an informal and sometimes casual writing style to create the book. I wanted to avoid the stereotypical formal business and academic approach that relies on passive sentences.

In six months, I drafted Nine Practices (this is the abbreviated title. At the end of this blog, I reference the book) followed by about five months of back-and-forth revisions with the editors.

At the time, I didn’t realize that I used a popular writing style that I call deductive. Before contrasting this book with my second one, here’s what I mean…

--

--