Unable To Land An Upwork Contract? Why You Shouldn’t Give Up Yet

Han Cao
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJan 6, 2024

--

To all struggling freelancers, we’re in this together.

It took me 6 months to land my first Upwork job. The last 2 weeks however, paint a very different story. 3 contracts completed within 2 weeks.

An overnight success? Not a chance.

It was months of continuous fine-tuning and micro-improvements to ensure I was applying to the ‘correct’ jobs, presenting myself in the best light and putting my money where my mouth is to deliver quality work.

When you first join Upwork, the future looks bright as your thoughts helplessly wander to how many contracts you’ll get and how much you earn.

Give it 3 days and that optimism will vaporize.

As you stare at the screen sending one application after another hoping for your inbox to be crammed with messages the following day, you’ll soon realize a lightbulb moment. The initial few weeks (if not months) of Upwork can be incredibly challenging.

I’m not here to sell you an ‘overnight success’ story. I want to share practical advice, hopefully enough to reignite your motivation to continue using Upwork before you log out your profile for the last time.

Start with your professional role as your ‘niche’

--

--

Han Cao
The Startup

Storyteller, Pharmacist, Violinist. Just your regular guy fumbling through life.