Understanding Why People Buy $4000 Shoes Will Change Your Marketing Strategy

It helped me understand my customers and revolutionize my firm

Levi Borba
The Startup

--

Image by stevanvranes from Pixabay

Subscribe (for free) to receive my articles directly in your inbox and receive as a special gift the digital book 20 Essential Hacks for Saving Money While Travelling. If you discovered this article, it means you have some entrepreneurial blood in your veins. Subscribe to my YouTube channel, Small Business Hacks, and unleash your inner entrepreneur.

During university, one of my classmates was the son of a fertilizer industry billionaire. Once we were in a marketing case class, analyzing the case of a certain jeans brand whose trousers cost more than $300.

This wealthy friend told me:

Whoever buys jeans for 300 dollars has a serious need for something else, not only for jeans. I would never pay so much for a pair of trousers.

It amused me that this phrase came from the mouth of a billionaire. But the point was right. Nobody who buys a pair of jeans with a price tag 900% higher than any good quality competitor, only wants a piece of clothing. Maybe you already have a few ideas about why people spend a salary on a jacket, trousers, or watch. Things like quality, durability, design, or customer service come to mind…

--

--