Unusual Advice From A Digital Marketer.

It might stop you from giving up.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
7 min readFeb 25, 2019

--

My first day in digital marketing was a surprise to me. I’d come from a different industry and had a certain expectation about the world of digital marketing.

I was brought back to reality as I started talking to business owners about their marketing. All of these people were asking the same three questions:

“What’s in it for me?”

“How do I get more?”

“How could I appear more like X competitor?”

It was all about them and their business. This realization made me think about what digital marketing really is.

What I learned from being a digital marketer is that we have it very wrong as a society about what it means to market.

Marketing is *not* about hidden agendas, deceiving people, selfish desires, secret algorithms, hype or any of that nonsense. These things are part of the old formula of marketing that doesn’t work 95% of the time anymore.

As a human race, this way of marketing is exhausting.

Image By: Art of Filth

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb