Using Application Load Balancers to Handle Multiple Domain Redirects

KNNX Corp.
The Startup
Published in
7 min readNov 30, 2020

--

Using Application Load Balancers to Handle Multiple Domain Redirects

I hope everyone has been following safety measures and staying inside to be healthy. The time bygone and the present have been unfamiliar in long stretches, forcing us all to find ways to peck our mind in different areas.

Since you are here, let me share a problem where I applied a similar idea.

In my time helping develop high-performance infrastructure and services at DLT Labs™, I’ve learned a lot about the role of load balancers while making them scalable.

One of the cloud providers we work with is Amazon Web Services, and today I thought I’d talk a little about what they call an Application Load Balancer (ALB), and what is needed to set one up.

Amidst all ongoing activities, one day my team witnessed a bottleneck caused by a requirement for multiple domains to be redirected to a single domain. On looking out for possible solutions, I came across a few. Naturally, as solutions go, they presented certain limitations too.

Magically, an Application Load Balancer can help provide a one-stop solution to clearly sweep-off this problem. Thereafter, you can go and explore more to take advantage of its different use cases in various areas. Now, let’s get familiar with the problem, related approach, and its solution.

--

--

KNNX Corp.
The Startup

KNNX is a global leader in Distributed Ledger Technology and Enterprise Products. To learn more, head over to: https://www.knnx.com/