Want to Become Happy? Stop Trying to Be Productive All the Time.

Burnout is not the price you have to pay for success

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
The Startup

--

I recently wrote a piece on panic attacks in my Russian blog. It became viral, so I decided to talk more about it here.

In that post, I wrote that I was trying hard to be the super-duper productive machine just about a year ago. I exhausted myself with work, meetings, 10 projects at the same time and lived by the motto of, ‘The more — the better’.

At some point, I broke down. My body couldn’t take it any longer and it revolted against my strict brain with a series of severe panic attacks.

After a few months of psychotherapy and reassessment of what really matters in my life, I realize something important that I want to share with the world.

Trying to be more productive all the time is toxic. It makes you constantly feel stressful, undervalued, under-accomplished and generally, not enough.

But the most important part is that it’s not healthy.

You work so much because you think you’re inherently flawed.

This is something I took a long time to come to terms with, but it’s true. We overwork ourselves because we think that we are made to…

--

--

Sergey Faldin 🇺🇦
The Startup

Honest thoughts. Unpopular opinions. Not necessarily true or smart. | The Guardian, Al Jazeera, Meduza | muckrack.com/sfaldin | Subscribe: sergeys.substack.com