Watching Dumpster Diving Videos on YouTube

Peggy Gillespie Hazelwood
The Startup
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2019

--

Waste of time or a new way to earn money?

I just spent about forty minutes watching two You Tube videos. The topic? Dumpster diving for profit.

I hadn’t seen this topic covered before for a way to find inventory to resell though I wasn’t exactly surprised. I’ve been known to pull “good stuff” out of a dumpster from time to time. Of course the stuff I’ve rescued has been on top, not touching anything gross like baby diapers or coffee grounds.

And the two people diving in dumpsters behind major chain stores didn’t appear to come across anything really gross either, so it’s all good.

Reselling Other People’s Discards

Lots of people have jumped on the reselling bandwagon lately. I’m an old hand at it; I’ve been doing it for years.

I resell mostly vintage items that I “source” (that’s a new word to me for what I’ve always called “shopping”) at yard sales, estate sales, and thrift stores.

I see nothing wrong with it. If someone is done with an object and they sell it at a yard sale or flea market, they get something for it and the buyer gets something they need or want to try to resell. Or if someone donates something when they’re done with it, again, it’s all good. A win-win for both parties.

--

--

Peggy Gillespie Hazelwood
The Startup

What, me work? Yeah, okay. Writer, editor, photographer, reseller. Owned by a cute, fluffy cat.