How to Persist, and The Waves of Failure

Half marathon taught me how to exceed my limits

Maher
The Startup

--

Half Marathon within 5 weeks and my farthest run was 6 km. Apparently, This was the first time to take a challenge that is really beyond my limits.

I stepped on the treadmill, hoping to finish a 10km-run for the second time in my life. I thought running it alone will be as easy as running it with a large group of runners as I did in the first time. but I was wrong!

I started running with confidence as I already did it before, After a while, I reached 5 km and my legs started to feel like noodles, time went slower and slower, the sound of my legs hitting the treadmill haunted me, my knees were hurting, I wanted to stop, “It’s Hard” I thought, “I’ll not finish the 10 km, I’m so tired, and of course, I can’t finish the Half-marathon” Thankfully, I was watching Netflix on my phone while running, I made it 5 min more and then the pain stopped, I no longer want to stop, I regained my confidence. and continued.

I encountered the same problem again at 7 km, and I managed to continue for another couple of minutes and then it was much easier, that I finished 12 km.

Now I know the secret to longer runs, Pain will come sometimes and I have to hold on, It’s like waves of pain, I should hold on for a bit and…

--

--

Maher
The Startup

Writer specializing in making machines creative