What Do Virtual Youtubers Have to Teach Us About Authenticity?

Sam Young
The Startup
Published in
11 min readDec 15, 2020

--

This article is a sneaky trojan horse for social justice warrior politics, just like the last one I wrote on this topic. That’s not how I personally see my own work, but it’s how a lot of other people saw it. To be perfectly honest, considering the amount of time I spent carefully thinking out and researching an article meant to expose a new audience to a niche community that left me open to challenges towards my masculinity only to have said community accuse me of being a disingenuous “social justice man” was a pretty painful experience. I am by far not the first person to experience something like this, most of the results that come up after a search for “journalism quotes” have to do with dealing with controversy. The reaction to my previous article actually prompted me to look up that phrase on google images, and the first quote that came up is now my tagline.

There’s no evidence that Orwell ever said this, but the sentiment is nice.

The concept of “haters” has been beaten to death and unenlightened or insensitive criticism is something you have to expect being any sort of creative, especially online. Being openly authentic is admirable precisely because it leaves you vulnerable to such things. One of my favorite quotes is something…

--

--

Sam Young
The Startup

Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed: everything else is public relations.