What Does “You Are Enough” Mean?

Jason Henry
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJun 25, 2019

--

I don’t remember the first time I heard or read the words “you are enough,” but I can imagine scratching my head in confusion because among the spiritual proverbs and truisms, this one wasn’t that easily accepted.

Namely because I couldn’t believe it. And so, my cynical mind went to work.

“If I think I’m enough, why would I ever do more? I’d just sit back and never achieve anything because I think I’ve made it already.”

“Can you imagine if people who go around hurting others believed in this? They would never do anything to change their bad behavior.”

“Is it even possible to be enough? Doesn’t that go against human nature’s goal of progress?”

All decent points but all miss the point.

“You are enough” means that there is nothing you need to be deemed as valuable and worthwhile. Consider when you were a baby. Were you enough then? Well of course you were. You were you, a unique expression of life, a one-of-a-kind precious heirloom of the universe, the likes of which no one will ever see again once you are gone.

Great, so no one argues whether or not an infant is enough. They just are. But that begs the question: when did we start to question if we were enough?

--

--

Jason Henry
The Startup

Former Edu. Psychologist | Current Writer | Constant Learner | “By your stumbling the world is perfected.”