What You Can Learn From Cooking Competition Shows

Hint: It’s Not About Cooking

Marshall Bowden
The Startup

--

Photo by Katie Smith on Unsplash

I enjoy watching cooking competition programs, and I watch a lot of them, some regularly and some sporadically. From Master Chef to Food Network Star to The Great British Baking Show I’ll watch it.

The thing I take away from them (besides entertainment) depends on the show, its format, and its judges. But one thing I can tell you: most of the things I’ve learned from these shows have nothing to do with what I’m making for dinner. The lessons here fall much more under the realm of life lessons for the soloist: the freelancer, the gig worker, the entrepreneur.

It makes sense, of course, because a successful chef is a performer, a soloist, and possibly an entrepreneur as well. She or he is a soloist, yes, but they also must be able to lead a team in order to deliver their vision successfully. Just as you, regardless of where you are on the entrepreneurial journey, will one day need to lead a group of people dedicated to fulfilling your vision.

Here are a few lessons worth learning from these culinary competitions.

Show yourself. Be vulnerable.

Food Network Star is a different kind of cooking competition. The contestants must be good cooks, but they also need the…

--

--

Marshall Bowden
The Startup

My beat is where music, literature, art, culture, and history intersect.