What Every Creative Needs: Good Timing

JJ Jumoc-Casas
The Startup
Published in
5 min readOct 5, 2020

--

I’ve been producing photo and video shoots since high school and I’m about to turn 33 this year. If I had to sum up what is the most essential in my shoots, it would be timing.

Photo by Icons8 Team on Unsplash

To be specific: learning how to control, organize, plan and anticipate time is what you need to be successful in every production (and in life if I’m going to make a hyperbolic statement).

Ask anyone who’s worked with me and they’ll say I’m pretty OCD on time. I hate being late (and I hate it more when people are late on my productions). If I have to be at someplace at a specific time, it has to be on my calendar. My default notification alerts ensures I ideally won’t be late: 1 hour, 30 minutes and 5minutes before each event.

The way that I look at it is: if a client is spending their money and time on me, I’m going to deliver the most efficient production as possible while providing the most value I can within that time window. This means every step from pre-production to post-production should ideally save time. Finding a time to chat through a scheduling app makes it easy to coordinate meetings, signing agreements digitally so there’s no need to print, sign, scan, and ensuring that…

--

--

JJ Jumoc-Casas
The Startup

SF-based portrait & commercial photographer. @845a Creative Director & owner of @photostripco. Here to share my creative thoughts, opinions and tutorials.