What I Did Before, During and After My Manager’s Maternity Leave

Brigette (Scobas) Morgan
The Startup
Published in
4 min readSep 19, 2020
Photo by The CEO Kid on Unsplash

The moment I learned I would be filling in for my manager during her maternity leave my mind ran wild with four emotions: joy for her, anticipation for this personal growth opportunity, apprehension for all that I would be responsible for and pensiveness on losing her leadership and guidance during those months.

She has been back from maternity leave for a few months now and I can confidently say I made it out the other side as a stronger manager and teammate. Through the process, I learned what is helpful to do before, during and after my manager is out on leave to set myself, my manager and my team up for success.

Before

Take a Break

As a product manager, I knew my day-to-day was going to get exponentially busier as I would become the product lead for the brand, while also balancing managing a new junior product manager. Therefore, I made sure to unplug and relax for a few days prior to my manager heading out so I could hit the ground running refreshed.

Avoid Negative Self-Talk

I was anxious about losing a last line of defense and a great product partner with whom to share ideas. Thinking of her last day was causing me unnecessary stress. I changed my outlook from negativity to how this could be a growth opportunity for me. That’s when I started feeling ready to take on whatever came my way.

Make a Plan

My manager and I met to review the extra work I would be taking on, the projects I would own and the employees I would collaborate with in certain situations. In those discussions, we decided to hire a junior product manager to assist me.

Do a Performance Review

By setting up a performance review, I understood areas of growth I could be cognizant of while she was out, as well as strengths I could lean into.

During

If You Have Help, Use It

I was trying not to be a blocker to engineers, keep communication consistent for the business and balance current projects plus emergencies. But I knew I had to take the extra time, as much as I didn’t think I had it, to delegate and properly train the new junior product manager. Workflow was less efficient while I trained her, but once I put in focused time to get her to the point of owning projects, it became beneficial for both of us. I felt less overwhelmed and she was able to grow and lead on her own.

Document Everything

I created a Google document to keep tabs on project wins and struggles, AB test performance, how the team carried on, areas I grew, and more. I wanted something to guide the catch-up conversation when my manager returned and to be a reference point for her. I thought, what would be helpful to return to if I went on leave? It also serves as a reflection for how much I managed while she was out.

Personalize the Process

Everyone manages a bit differently, so I took the time to flex my personal management muscles. I asked myself: How do I want to lead? What traits do I like in leaders? What do I want to integrate more into the team’s process? I had to organize and lead my first offsite, so I took the opportunity to add specific sessions that I thought would be growth opportunities for the team.

Reach Out

With my manager out, I had more face time with executives that normally had her as their point of contact. I set up one-on-ones and was prepared to represent my team in my manager’s absence. Also, I asked for help and had allies guide me through the months my manager was away. Because I stayed engaged, they were able to speak to my performance once my manager returned.

After

Review the Welcome Back Document

I set up a couple of meetings the first week my manager was back in office to walk her through my Google document. My manager appreciated feeling caught up and continued to reference the document for a couple weeks.

Be Patient and Honest

Not only was my manager getting accustomed to returning, but I also was re-adjusting. I tried my best to be flexible as she shifted back into her role and I shifted out of the management role. I was excited she was back, but the first two weeks were difficult. Meetings dropped from my calendar, ownership of tasks were not fully defined, and I was no longer in the know on every detail of every project. It takes time for everyone to feel comfortable again. After the dust settled, I was open and honest about what I wanted to keep doing, what I enjoyed, what in particular I thought was beneficial for my career growth that I would want to continue and what I did not particularly like. Her and I continually talk about delegation and growth opportunities, so we feel like we are both contributing to our team and our careers.

--

--

Brigette (Scobas) Morgan
The Startup

Journalist turned product manager. Siberian Husky mom. Seeker of a good story.