What I Learned After My Interview With SpaceX

Walter Guevara
The Startup
Published in
5 min readOct 30, 2020

--

Not long ago I got an email from a job recruiter that I had built up a good relationship with asking me if I was on the market. She was well connected and typically came to me with interviews from big tech companies and giant media outlets. It’s good to know people that are well connected.

One of those companies just so happened to be SpaceX.

“I can you get the interview this week!”

She spouted, much like a 1920’s boxing couch. At this point I had just left my job and was taking some much needed time to not work and to figure out what my next big phase in life should be. I was working towards consulting and on various side-projects, so going to work for SpaceX as a software engineer was definitely not on the timeline.

This particular job interview was for a software engineering position and the technology stack was something that I was pretty familiar with, so I really wasn’t too nervous about doing the actual interview.

But it was offer that I couldn’t refuse. It’s SpaceX after all. So I agreed to do it and ran through my typical preparation for a job interview. I read the job description very carefully, took notes of the primary technologies being used and did some added research on the company’s culture just in case it came up.

--

--

Walter Guevara
The Startup

Startup CTO. Sr. Programmer. Blogger. Los Angeles native. Future sci-fi author.