What I Learned from Martial Arts as a Software Engineer

Some striking similarities between Martial Arts and Software Engineering. No pun intended :)

Ardy Gallego Dedase
The Startup

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

As someone who sits in front of the computer as a profession, I take my health and fitness seriously. I started training Muay Thai and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (BJJ) about a year ago. It’s one of the best decisions I’ve made. Before that, I was doing mostly strength and cardio training for years. I got bored with the repetitive nature of such workouts, so I decided to try martial arts.

I’ve been a fan of martial arts movies since I was a kid. Jackie Chan’s Drunken Master was the first “Kung Fu” movie that I watched. My father introduced me to Bruce Lee movies. My fascination with martial arts has evolved into following combat sports like Boxing and Mixed Martial Arts (MMA). I’ve also been following the Joe Rogan Podcast for years now. That has made my decision to sign up for a martial arts gym an easy one.

I’ve been pondering the crossover of ideas between being a Martial Arts student and being a Software Engineer that I had to write an essay to get my thoughts out.

Before I dive into what I learned from Martial Arts, let’s start with why I chose Muay Thai and BJJ, among all other options.

--

--