What I Learned from Spending Over $5,000 Running Experiments on Facebook Ads

Facebook knows who your customers are better than you do

Akis Apostolopoulos
The Startup

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

Last year, I rolled out a new digital product for a niche audience of contractors. First, I launched the product to my existing list of customers and subscribers. After getting some promising results, I decided to scale up and run Facebook Ads to acquire new customers.

From June to November 2020, I spent over $5,000 on running various small campaigns. I performed hundreds of experiments testing ad copy, ad images, audiences, and incentives. The plan was to keep the most successful experiments and build a new marketing campaign.

The most significant benefit from these experiments was the skills and knowledge that I acquired within a few months. I learned the importance of testing and trying out different headlines and images. I had made all these assumptions about my audience that turned out to be completely wrong. Had it not been for these Facebook ads, I would still be assuming.

By the end of the experiment, I had figured out some fundamental lessons about how Facebook works and what you need to do to get good results on Facebook.

Facebook will do what you tell it to do.

--

--

Akis Apostolopoulos
The Startup

I spend my days reading, thinking, and writing about Entrepreneurship. Owner of 2 Businesses. For my best stuff https://theentrepreneurialthinker.com/sign-up/