What I Learned From the World’s Greatest Venture Capitalist

Bill Tai blends his passion for kite surfing with his desire to contribute to a better future.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMar 15, 2018

--

Image Credit: Owen Buggy

I recently got to spend some time with a man who many people argue is the greatest venture capitalist to ever set foot on planet Earth, Bill Tai.

Many know him as a close friend of Richard Branson, a charitable man, an expert in blockchain, the guy who funded companies like Canva and Zoom, and probably the keenest kite surfer you will meet.

That’s what people may see on the surface, but I decided to dig a lot deeper than that and what I learned goes far beyond what I expected.

Here are 10 lessons I learned from Bill Tai:

1. Stand for a cause bigger than yourself.

For Bill Tai, kite surfing is the one thing that he can’t live without other than his family and friends. It’s not just a hobby but also a cause that has become so much more.

He’s turned a sport into a love for the ocean and throughout my time with him I saw Bill do lots of little things like picking up rubbish that he saw near the beach, educating people on the ocean, and most of all putting together an event with…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb