What it Takes to Publish on the Internet For 10 Years Straight

Behind-the-scenes of building a full-time writing career.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup

--

Image from the author’s Instagram.

I realized a truth about myself early on in life: When I set my mind to something, I’d go to any lengths to get it.

My online writing journey started quite by accident.

Yes, I’d always loved writing, and yes, I’d published poems and stories in several local and national newspapers when I was in school. But I’d never intentionally set out to write every day or build a personal brand.

Things changed in 2014 when I was in my final year at college, and a platform called “Quora” became popular among my classmates.

Every day in class, I’d come across some friend either reading Quora or quoting something they came across on it. The platform had questions in every topic under the sun, and users could write their answers.

I started looking for questions that let me exercise my creativity, something along the lines of Can you write a story in 11 words?, or Can you write a story starting with the words “She wasn’t the one?”

What started as a hobby soon turned into an obsession. My stories were getting views. People from all across the world commented saying how much they admired my creativity. I was…

--

--