What I’ve Learned In My 30’s (So Far): Lessons Towards Living The Good Life

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
7 min readMay 14, 2019

--

Image Credit: Alexandra Gavillet

My 20’s were a blast and unfortunately, I don’t remember a lot of it thanks to alcohol and a battle with mental illness which I avoided. Now I’m in my 30’s, I’ve vowed not to make this mistake again and find my version of the good life.

This week it’s my birthday and there is a yearly tradition where I share the most valuable lessons I learned since the last birthday. It’s a special time of the year where I hold up a mirror and reflect on the person I see (and more importantly) the lessons that have changed the way I see myself and life.

Below are the 11 lessons from the first couple of years of my 30’s that will help you find your own version of the good life:

1. Problems are a disguise for opportunity

The most crucial lesson of this article is that when you’re looking for your next opportunity, it will come disguised as a problem. The last 12 months have been a battle to completely change my career and there have been some wins and casualties in the process.

The problem of career change has ended up becoming an opportunity. It has taught me to forget the brand/company you work for and focus on the people…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb