Photo by Kevin Bhagat on Unsplash

What My Minimalist Laptop Looks Like

How I keep myself on-task and focused on work

Sam Holstein
Published in
12 min readJan 5, 2020

--

Several days ago, I published “What My Minimalist Phone Looks Like.” Five days later, it had five thousand views, so it seems like this is something people are interested in as we move into the new year. (Which is great for me, because I love writing about digital minimalism).

My phone isn’t the only device I’ve aggressively minimized. I may carry my phone with me everywhere I go, but as someone who works for themselves, the most important device I have is my laptop. I spend 45 minutes a day using my phone, but I spend four to five hours a day staring at my laptop.

My Macbook Screen Time statistics

I’m proud of that number. In those four hours, I write one to two articles per day, read Medium, do all my life tasks (check on my finances, make loan payments, other boring to-do’s) and do some research into whatever I’m currently reading about. There are a lot of people who spend twice as long on their computer daily and get half as much done. It’s thanks to my minimalist laptop that I’m able to do so.

Here’s what my minimalist laptop looks like:

--

--

Sam Holstein
The Startup

Articles that teach you how to master your mind ☞ free stuff at www.samholstein.com