What the AMP! Augmenting my own site with Accelerated Mobile Pages (AMP)

Weiyuan
The Startup
Published in
8 min readAug 1, 2019

--

Original image, source: weiyuan

AMP, a shockingly fun side project for my own site 🔌, amplifying my learning experience for a fun filled afternoon.

(Cue the cawing crow 😆)

Of the many technologies in our everyday lives, Accelerated Mobile Pages (AMP) was one that I thought was really “cool” to use. As a user, it gave me a way to get a quick and interactive snapshot of a search result, before fully committing to visiting the site (and leaving my current search results!).

As seen in the above perspective of Google’s search engine, when selecting a site with the AMP icon, the user views a page that is delivered directly from Google’s own AMP cache. This cached page is optimised for delivery for everyday users, such as restricting to 12MB per loaded resource.

However, as a developer, AMP raises more questions than answers. What are the requirements to using AMP? Where can I look to validate my AMP content? How do I get my AMP results to show up? Most importantly, why should I do it?

Why should I do it?

Original image, source: pixabay

--

--

Weiyuan
The Startup

Senior Engineering Manager, Ascenda Loyalty | Former Engineering Manager, Grab | Former Director of Engineering, ZilLearn | bit.ly/weiyuan