What to Watch Out for When a Guru States That a Social Media Platform Is Dead

Read this if you’re unsure about the future of your favorite social media platform

Marguerite Faure
The Startup
5 min readOct 8, 2021

--

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

There was a time when I would cling to the insight and wisdom from social media gurus that I found online. When it came to growth, cultivating a sustainable community, and even monetizing platforms- I never struggled to find someone who sounded like they had an inside scoop that would benefit my business.

To be honest, nothing has changed much. The internet is swarming with know-it-alls, and at times, I’ve even found myself sharing my journey to hopefully help others. Advice or help, without paying for anything, in my opinion, is a great soundboard for critical thinking because you are able to digest what has worked for others and decide whether or not to apply it to yourself.

What does grind my gears though, is when online ‘experts’ tell you that a platform is about to die. Now, we have all seen how platforms that were big at some point, fizzled out, and because there is a history of these platforms being so volatile, it could make anyone fearful of the same doom attacking their platform of choice.

I cannot tell you how many times over the past two years that I’ve heard that Instagram or Facebook are about to become irrelevant, or that YouTube is not attainable for new creators, or that your favorite writing platform is about to burst into flames…

All of these platforms may come to an end at any time, but to avoid the panic, I have found that asking myself the following questions to be helpful to determine the efficacy of the guru who’s stirring the pot…

#1 Is the “online expert” falling behind?

I’ve noticed that when people are on top of their game, they tend to be more optimistic. However, when a change in the algorithm occurs, or if a new wave of competition is on the rise, some people tend to react negatively.

Instead of adapting to a new environment, there may be a desire to designate blame. I’ve seen this take the form of extreme negativity like a wave of rants where the fault usually lies with the next generation, the algorithm, hate directed at some level of top management, and the likes.

If there is a new wave of creators, that are enthusiastic about the platform, or a large number of creators who are adapting to change, then I will ask this question. Instead of being negative about a platform just because someone says I should be, I rather take a deeper dive into the source and ask myself where they stand in terms of sustainable competitiveness on the platform.

But also, I make a point of identifying where there is a large number of positive users of the platforms because if there isn’t then the negative Nancy may have a point.

#2 Is the online “expert” pushing something new?

A few years ago, there was a lot of talk about a new platform that was going to be Instagram’s biggest rival. I spent around 15 minutes trying to figure out the name of the platform which was all the hype for a few months in 2018 but a complete lapse of memory now- do you even remember Vero?

I recall being active on Instagram at that time and being so terrified to miss out on this new and shiny platform that I started a profile immediately afraid to lose my reach and audience. The platform did have potential, but I was only on it, because of the hype around it.

I first heard of Vero, I’m slightly ashamed to say, by watching a celebrity gossip channel. The hosts were talking up this new platform and saying how many downloads it had, and that it was sure to throw Instagram into the dark ages. Back then, I wasn’t equipped with these questions, so I jumped when they told me to.

These days, I think we all have a rough idea of what affiliate marketing, product placement, shares, and sponsorships are. If there is some sort of financial incentive, it should be communicated, but sometimes we can get caught up in the hype of what is being said, and how it is being communicated, and this could blur out our objectivity.

If someone is pushing you to quit one thing, and slide over to something else, pause, and ask yourself what is in it for them…

#3 Is the guru going through a personal change?

I relate most to this point because as I have changed a lot from my 20’s to my 30's. I’ve also become a mother and everything that once seemed so important has lost its shine in comparison to the new life that has entered mine. I have got to this space where I appreciate simplicity and consistency as opposed to reach and fame.

I don’t use social media, except YouTube, and when people ask me why, I have a long and a short answer- but the just of it is that I have gone through a personal change and do not see the need for what once took up a lot of my time.

However, I’ve seen other people go through personal changes, but instead of acknowledging where they are in life, they tend to bash how others do life. If I had to compare it- it’s like someone became vegan and then shunned people who ate meat.

In the same way, I see people throwing shade at social media platforms saying that they are irrelevant, boring, or harmful. They may have a point, but if their objective is for you to be like them, then it’s worth being a little critical. Just because someone thinks Facebook is old, lame, and dying out, doesn’t mean you have to delete the platform if you enjoy it.

It helps to identify where the online expert is in their life, and what your objective is for using social media. If they do not align, make your own decision, and don’t be swayed just because someone else is encouraging it.

Final Thoughts

The point of this article is to guide you with questions that may help you when your favorite influencer mentions that a platform is about to go bust. I hope you feel equipped with questions to have a critical mindset to analyze the motive behind the people trying to get you to leave a space.

Then, please don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that you have to stay on social media.

You’re allowed to have your reasons for wanting to kick the habit of the socials. Like I mentioned, I don’t use any social media except for YouTube. But, I’m not going to be melodramatic and say that these platforms are about to be extinct to try and scare people away from them.

This article is more aimed at those unsure of how to determine the credibility of people who are scaring people off one social media platform with some sort of incentive to further another aspect of their career or to completely pause the trajectory of someone else’s social media reach.

I’m sure we’ll look back in a couple of years and giggle at the platforms we once used to use, but let that be your choice as and when you’re ready.

--

--