What We Can Learn from Kids Starting Businesses

So many reminders, including if they can jump into the fray, so can we

Sharon Woodhouse
The Startup

--

Photo by Jeswin Thomas on Unsplash.

We spoke about the clothing line he wanted to start. He already had a name and logo idea. He had no start-up costs. His home already had a sewing machine and other supplies he could use. He’d begin using his old clothes for the material from which to fashion his new creations. He’d document his income and expenses in a notebook.

When we were done, I extended my hand and he shook it. It was a warm, beautiful, confident handshake, as good as the best I experience as a business owner.

“Great handshake!” I commended him.

“Thanks,” he smiled. “I practiced it for this.”

I recently began coaching and mentoring tentative entrepreneurs, budding small business owners, and Kids with Questions at the public middle/high school my son attends. Here’s what these students have reminded me about business.

Entrepreneurship takes many forms

Some students have services (teaching a skill), some have products (clothing), some have digital products or apps (specialized research). Some go bespoke and niche (custom design and charms for Crocs). Some are thinking big-picture and long-term (planning a…

--

--

Sharon Woodhouse
The Startup

Sharon Woodhouse is an author coach, publishing consultant, publishing project manager, and former indie book publisher. www.conspirecreative.com/subscribe