What’s the difference between Crowdfunding, ICO’s, IEO’s and STO’s?

The evolution of funding great ideas

Edward Iftody
The Startup

--

Image by Johannes Plenio from Pixabay

‘Crowdfunding’, ‘tokenization’, ‘blockchain’, ‘cryptocurrency’.

Oh sure, I’ve heard these words thrown around in business meetings or at parties. I’ve nodded my head in ‘knowing’ approval without really understanding what everyone is talking about. I get the general concept – it’s about raising money for a new product or business idea. Yet deep down, I’ve always had a fear of being exposed – ‘Hey Edward, what do you think is the better funding option for a new computer app, crowdfunding or an ICO?’

If you feel panic when this topic comes up in the office or in a social setting, then this article is definitely for you.

In this article I will explain …

  1. why I think these new financing options are needed and why they are useful additions for the economy,
  2. the evolution of financing options from crowdfunding to security token offering,

--

--

Edward Iftody
The Startup

Edward Iftody is a Communication Coach, author of Surviving Work, a veteran of the Canadian fin-tech industry and a blockchain enthusiast.