What’s the most socially acceptable addiction?

Why do we stigmatize some addictions over others?

Shannon N
The Startup

--

Photo by Alessandro Zambon on Unsplash

In her book, The Power of Vulnerability, Brene Brown describes addiction as, “compulsive and chronic numbing.” This definition has had a profound impact on how I view my coping mechanisms. There are so many ways we tune out pain and vulnerability. They all harm us in their own ways and interfere with living our best lives. They mask our true selves and damage relationships. So why do we view some addictions as socially acceptable and others as moral failings?

I recently wrote an article about my addictions and the part they have played in my life and in my most recent depression. From early childhood, I have used food as both a comfort and anxiety reliever. Then came the added bonus of the protective layer of fat that came with it. Yes, I was disgusted by my body and I resented living a life on the sidelines, as a good fat girl does. But I also secretly felt safe. I didn’t have to worry about what men wanted from me, because men didn’t want anything from me. But the protection gained from men comes at the price of being judged by everyone you see. You wear your addiction as a physical manifestation; like a Scarlet letter.

I also wrote about using sex in an addictive way. My self-esteem was nonexistent and I learned from an early age…

--

--

Shannon N
The Startup

Finding myself even though I didn’t realize I was lost. Teacher, mother, wife, woman, survivor.