What’s Under Those PW Dots?

Garry Kitchen
The Startup
Published in
7 min readFeb 5, 2021

--

I don’t like when my computer hides things from me.

As a software/video game developer, I see tech tips everyday. Most of the time I will read the ones that sound interesting, but I find that I rarely, if ever, have the occasion to use the tip in the future. However, there is one tech tip that I have used on numerous occasions with success, and for that reason, I’ve decided to share it with you all here. Hopefully, it will get you out of a jam someday, at which time you’ll remember this moment fondly. That’s my optimistic, “glass is half full” side talking.

Of course, what is more likely to happen is that you’ll find yourself in the exact situation described below, and you’ll remember that you read this tip, but you won’t remember where you read it, what it specifically said to do, and you’ll have no clue where to find it, at which point the problem you need to solve will be even more aggravating than it normally is because you had the answer for one brief second, but you screwed up and lost it! What the hell is the matter with you? Answer me! AAAARRRRR AAAAAARRRR [Sorry, I slipped into my Sam Kinison impersonation.¹ That won’t happen again. My deepest apologies].

That said, to avoid the above nightmare scenario where you know you saw it, but you can’t remember it, my tech tip for you today is when you read a tech tip that you like (like this

--

--

Garry Kitchen
The Startup

Garry Kitchen is a retro video game designer whose titles include Donkey Kong (2600), Keystone Kapers, GameMaker (1985) and Bart (Simpson) vs the Space Mutants.