WhatsApp Doesn’t Read Your Messages, It Doesn’t Need To

Pen Magnet
The Startup
Published in
11 min readJan 8, 2021

--

Photo by K Wills on Unsplash

As of this writing, WhatsApp released a newer version of its privacy policy on Jan 4, 2021.

Among other things, it mentions:

We are one of the Facebook Companies. You can learn more further below in this Privacy Policy about the ways in which we share information across this family of companies.

When I opened WhatsApp yesterday, I was greeted with a prompt to read the fine print. Among other things, it talks highly about “End to end encryption.” WhatsApp even has a ridiculous 30-second video informing users about the existence of End-to-end encryption, without any attempt to explain it.

It was meant to assure me my messages were safe with WhatsApp. As I thought about it for a while, I grew skeptical.

Soon, I was sure. No, nothing was safe.

What is End-to-end encryption?

In plain terms, it means that no one except the intended recipient can read/view/access the sent information.

--

--

Pen Magnet
The Startup

Author of Comprehensive Approach to Senior Developer Interview), Startup writer, Programmer, Tech Career Blogger, Education Engagement Enthusiast