When You Let Go, Trust and See What Happens

Your life has its own purpose and meaning. Ultimately your path is drawn on a map created by YOU.

Lucy King
The Startup

--

Celebrating success ©Jacob Lund

Too many people set goals based on what others think. Instead of pleasing others, think about what you care about, and set goals that achieve what is important to YOU.

I’m here to tell you that conformity is not your friend.

The problem with conformity is that it leads to mediocrity. Now, I will be the first to admit I am average in many ways — but a life plagued by regrets and an enteral “what if…” is not a recipe for happiness.

Your life has its own purpose and meaning. Well-meaning people (parents, teachers and friends) may guide you, but ultimately YOU are responsible to define your life. Your path is drawn on a map created by YOU.

I’ve had side hustles alongside a 9–5 job for my entire adult life. At one point I took a year off and went back to grad school. Living “off the grid” was unnerving at first, but I enjoyed the freedom to accept more freelance work and travel.

If I had played it safe it would have been a toxic “what if…” in my life.

For today’s generation expectations can and should be fluid. Everything is changing and there are no fixed…

--

--