Why 90% of Startups Fail, and What to Do About It

Bram Krommenhoek
The Startup
8 min readApr 10, 2018

--

Most entrepreneurs think they’re building the next big thing.

In reality, over 90% of them fail.

But you’re not one of them right?

That’s what I thought. I thought my startup made complete sense. It would revolutionize the way entrepreneurs build their business.

I was like most entrepreneurs: I never thought I would be one of the failures. And I never expected it to be as lonely and isolating.

That’s why I’m writing this: to help you prevent this from happening.

A bit of background

Looking back, when I started my startup fresh out of university, I was extremely ignorant and had no idea what I was doing. All I knew was that I wanted to solve the problem I personally ran into: I have a brain full of ideas but no way to turn them into reality.

I’ve worked closely with the founding teams of over 20 startups, and have seen them work or not work. Combining that experience with my current work with startups, it gets clearer and clearer you CAN build the kind of business that does highly meaningful work.

You CAN solve huge problems and make other people’s lives better.

--

--

Bram Krommenhoek
The Startup

Failed founder. I share my "Aha"s and "Oh shit"s. As seen in The Mission, The Startup, uxdesign.cc