Why and How You Should Journal Consistently

Collectively Becca
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMay 10, 2019

--

Photo by Cathryn Lavery on Unsplash

I would be lost without it. It goes everywhere I go. I learn my thoughts among its pages and find my words between its lines. There is no doubt, my journal is a treasure. Journaling has become my friend, a safe space, and a form of self-care. Journaling is my “me” time.

I have heard from so many people who wish they could consistently write in a journal, but they find themselves, after so many failed attempts, tossing the abandoned notebook into the corner closet along with the other half-attempted endeavors.

I have kept a journal or diary since I was seven years old. I am not the exception, nor am I special. Anyone can consistently write in a journal. All it takes is some planning and strategy. .

Why I Keep a Journal

I feel as British novelist William Makepeace Thackeray once said, “As there are a thousand thoughts lying within a man that he does not know till he takes up the pen to write.”

Journaling is a way to discover what I’m thinking. It’s like having a conversation with myself. I recount the day, ask myself questions, and find the answers through my writing. Journalling is an…

--

--

Collectively Becca
The Startup

I write because I breathe. I breathe because I write. I’m sometimes funny but always real.