FROM CREATOR TO CREATOR

Why “Be Kind. Always.” Is One of the Best Pieces of Business Advice You Should Take

Kindness can help grow your product or service. And your business.

Andrea Feccomandi
The Startup
Published in
5 min readNov 29, 2021

--

Photo by Jan Canty on Unsplash

Now, this is everything a bit sh*t”.

In this way began the tweet of a user who had downloaded bibisco and was unable to install it.

How do you think I felt when I saw the notification on my smartphone?

First, I got angry. How does this girl dare to insult my product publicly? Does she know that this is not a product like all the others? Does she know that this is not a product made by a big company, but by me, with love and passion?

Secondly, I got scared. This person had nearly 1,500 followers, and the software niche for novelists is not very large. How many, after reading this tweet, would have given up trying bibisco?

Then, I decided to do the simplest thing. I took a deep breath and answered her. Kindly. I gave her the link to the documentation and told her I was available for any questions.

Suddenly her tone changed. She thanked me publicly, and in another tweet, she wrote that she had solved the problem, thanking me again.

--

--

Andrea Feccomandi
The Startup

Dad, Husband, Booklover, Software Engineer, CTO, Author of the Novel Writing Software bibisco (bibisco.com) and The Warm Lasagna Newsletter (bit.ly/45yzQcD).