Why Do I Have to Tip Someone For Just Doing Their Job?

Hilton CEO started a controversy by stating he doesn’t tip housekeeping when he stays in hotels, leading to renewed arguments over the practice of tipping.

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
The Startup
Published in
8 min readJun 14, 2019

--

Credit: rawpixel.com from Pexels

One thing I can remember learning from observing my father as I grew up, was the necessity of tipping. He always tipped people who provided him with a service no matter how small it may have been. As a child I watched with fascination as he practiced the palmed bill handshake to thank the maitre d’ at restaurants for giving us a good table. He tipped not only waiters who served us, but often those whose table we routinely sat at, even if they weren’t serving us that night.

The sommelier was tipped, another palmed bill handshake, after pouring our wine. If a busboy served, cleared, and attentively kept our water glasses filled, they were tipped as well. People handing out towels in the restrooms received a crisp dollar bill, which I loved because I was allowed to do this on my own, making me feel very grown up. Valets got a small tip when they took the car, something I always thought of as an incentive to be careful with it, and a larger one at the end of the evening when the car was returned it to us.

--

--

Natalie Frank, Ph.D.
The Startup

I write about behavioral health & other topics. I’m Managing Editor (Serials, Novellas) for LVP Press. See my other articles: https://hubpages.com/@nataliefrank