IT TAKES TIME TO BUILD THE HABIT.

Why I Continue to Write

What makes it worth it for me.

Spencer Pollock
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJul 20, 2020

--

What is writing to you? Ask yourself that; what does writing mean to you? Think about it for a minute. What is your relationship with writing? Do you like it? Does it have any benefits that you can see? Do you prefer to type as opposed to writing? Think about it.

What do you use writing for? Is it for work or pleasure? Do you write simply out of necessity? Do you write at all? There are so many different answers, and each is unique. I’ve sat down to think about these things. Well, I sit down to think about them all the time. Then I write down my thoughts.

I’ve always found writing natural to me. The words kind-of just flowed into being. I continue to write because it’s my time. I write fiction, nonfiction, fantasy, reality, facts, whatever is appropriate. I write because I can reflect on what I’ve done. So that I can remember to do something. So I can figure out what I need to think about. Writing has become a mindset. A way to control a part of my day.

We’ve used it to record thoughts for thousands of years. To pass knowledge from one generation to the next. It’s the backbone of how our society can function, being that its part of the way we communicate with one another.

--

--

Spencer Pollock
The Startup

💻Software Engineer | Game Developer | DevOps | Project Enthusiest | Technical Writer — Working to make things simpler. I’ll tell you my story as it unfolds 📖