Why I decided to get a mentor and you should do as well

Sinem Günel
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJul 6, 2019

--

Even though the concept of mentoring has been known and practiced for centuries, it is becoming increasingly more popular nowadays.

The core idea of mentoring is nothing more than an experienced person helping someone out who has less experience. However, what is becoming more trendy are paid mentoring programs with application processes and screenings. If you think that a mentoring relationship has to be paid and you have to apply for it through documents, you are actually wrong.

These programs are a great service as they enable you to reach out to successful people whom you might otherwise maybe not be able to contact, however, a mentoring relationship can also be fairly informal.

I just had my first-ever mentoring call with my first mentor this week. She is a very successful 36-year old serial entrepreneur. I had already met her at an event once, however, I applied for her as a mentor through an organized program. Happily, she accepted my application and now she will mentor me for the next 12 months. Already my first phone call made me realize how experienced she is and how much I can learn from her.

What is a mentor?

A mentor is someone who can put himself in your shoes and support you with his existing knowledge and experience. In…

--

--

Sinem Günel
The Startup

I help you create a business and life you love. ⚡ Start here: https://mwa.ck.page/5day