Why I Don’t like to Make Decisions

I have a thousand reasons to hate decision making

Anselmo Guarneros
The Startup

--

The first time I rented a movie was in the now extinct Blockbuster store. In those years, it was common to go to the store on a Friday night, stroll through the aisles and choose one of several options.

Choosing a movie was about a few minutes of walking, moving between aisle and aisle, between section and section, from comedy to horror, and maybe even running into a friend at the store. There was also an area where there were candy and popcorn and little things from movies to buy, like stuffed animals, or key chains. Choosing a movie, or two to take home, was an experience that undoubtedly entertained.

Upon arriving home, the most complicated of all was deciding which of the movies I had rented I’d see first. When picking between two movies, I’d put it on my VHS player, turned on the television, and settled on the couch with popcorns and soda.

It always happened to me that, after a few hours, I woke up with the second movie already finished and a blue screen on the television. The feeling of turning off the television and going back to sleep was wonderful, yet it’s been years since the last time I felt that.

Then, Netflix arrived.

--

--

Anselmo Guarneros
The Startup

I write about philosophy, marketing, and art. Director of Marketing and Communications for the Diocese of Laredo.