Why I Love Working from Home

Toby Hazlewood
The Startup
Published in
10 min readOct 25, 2019

--

Assuming that most of us sleep for 7 or 8 hours per night, work accounts for nearly half our waking hours. For many, it’s more than half our lives.

Our work doesn’t just dictate what we do with our time and how much money we are given in return for it (and hence what we can do when we aren’t working). It also determines who we spend much of our time with and the environment within which we do that work.

I consider myself fortunate that much of my day job can be done remotely, and my current long-standing client is supportive of flexible working. Most of my work is done from home and I love that fact.

In this article, I want to share why I love it, and what I’ve learned about home working over the 8 years since it became the norm for me.

With the proliferation of affordable high-speed home internet connections and mobile phones, technology now makes home working a possibility for many jobs that used to have to be done in an office environment. Just because something is feasible, it doesn’t make it successful or appealing to all though, and I’m conscious that even among those who do exactly the same job as me, it’s not universally loved.

It used to be that working from home (or WFH to give it an acronym) was treated with disdain. The assumption was that you were slacking, watching TV and eating…

--

--

Toby Hazlewood
The Startup

A writer, dad and husband sharing his thoughts, wins and losses to help and inspire others. https://tobyhazlewood.substack.com/