I Switched to Linux After Using Windows for 10 Years

I was a fan of Windows 98, 2000, XP, 7, and 10. But, I finally decided to use Ubuntu forever.

Shalitha Suranga
The Startup

--

Ubuntu desktop. Screenshot by the author

In fact, If there is no operating system (OS) installed the computer becomes a worthless device because the operating system is the intermediate interface that connects the user to the hardware and vice versa. People choose operating systems according to their preferences and what they do. Besides, some people had to go with an operating system that is given by their preferred hardware device (Apple computers come with macOS).

My first computer was a Pentium II one and it had Windows 98 installed when I purchased it in 2008. Thereafter, I used Windows 2000 for several months. Like most die-hard Windows fans, I used Windows XP and 7 for a long time. Before I completely switched to Ubuntu, my favorite OS was Windows 10. As everybody says, freedom is a key factor that leads us to choose a Linux distribution instead of a proprietary operating system. But, Windows was okay for me until they patch the graphical user interface (GUI) for Windows 7. I switched to Linux mostly due to the following key factors.

Stability and Performance

--

--

Shalitha Suranga
The Startup

Programmer | Author of Neutralinojs | Technical Writer