Why I Will Always Have Paid Beta Launches

Is a free beta period actually reaching your goals?

Alana Rister, Ph.D.
The Startup

--

Photo by SpaceX on Unsplash

Last month, I had a Beta launch of a new Notion template. During the beta period, I had 20 spots available for about 50% off the final price. However, earlier in my business, I would have launched my beta period for free with unlimited spots to maximize the number of “sales”.

After 3 years in my business, I have realized that a free beta launch does not meet any of the goals of a beta period from the business perspective.

What Is A Beta?

A beta period or launch is a pre-release of a product to customers to conduct a final test of the product before an official launch. Beta launches are most common in the software space. Once software is successfully created and initially tested (known as alpha testing), then you can launch to a wider audience to do thorough testing.

Oftentimes, beta users will receive a discount to encourage them to join and reward them for being early testers of an unproven product.

Beta launches/periods have since been used in many different products, especially digital products.

The Goal Of A Beta

--

--

Alana Rister, Ph.D.
The Startup

Write about entrepreneurship, marketing, and personal development. Also me: @alanalrister and @scigradcoach https://www.alanarister.com/alana-rister-newsletter