Why I’ll Always Be a Solopreneur

Keeping your business (very) small can be a long-term plan.

Karen Banes
The Startup

--

There’s an obsession with growth when it comes to business. Grow your company, grow your revenue, grow your team. While I’m more than happy to grow, both personally and professionally, I don’t believe in growth at any cost. Specifically I don’t believe in growth at the cost of freedom.

I’m a solopreneur, and I have every intention of staying that way. Solopreneurship is something that people (and spell checking programs) tend to have a problem with, which always surprises me because in the circles I move in, it’s very much a thing. In fact, my articles on solopreneurship are some of my most popular content.

I’ve come to realise, however, that my readers are split into two camps: solopreneurs by choice vs solopreneurs by necessity. The first camp tend to be free-thinking, freedom loving, lifestyle solopreneurs. The second are short-term solopreneurs, intending to stay in solo mode only as long as it takes them to gather the resources they need for growth: the money they need to build their team.

Both camps are valid places to be, but I’m pretty sure I’ll always be in the first. Here’s why:

There’s amazing freedom in NOT being responsible for employees

--

--

Karen Banes
The Startup

Freelance writer sharing thoughts on life, society, creativity, and productivity. https://changetheworldwithwords.substack.com